Being On-Time

Some people are punctual people. Always on-time. Early even.

I am not one of those. It is one of the things I’m “working on.” Which means, I’d like to be better about it and I think about it some, but I don’t actually try to alter the underlying behaviors…

At least I hadn’t, until I saw this article: The Secrets of Punctual People by Jessica Hullinger at Fast Company. In part, because I already do the things that I think will help me be more punctual – like the first two from this article: keep a reliable calendar and be practical about the amount of time it takes to get places, including possible delays.

It was the third suggestion from this article that struck a chord: save a task for when you arrive. Jessica’s quote from Gretchen Rubin fits me to a tee – I’m always trying to fit in one last thing, or one last part of the thing I’m working on, before I head to the next appointment or even. Love the idea of taking that thing with me to work on once I’ve arrived. Early.

I’m going to try it!

 

Resources and Links

Leave a Reply

